Tuesday, May 17, 2011

NEW YORK NEW YORK: Javits Center - ICFF Editors Awards 2011

Javits Center: ICFF Editors Awards.  The 23rd International Contemporary Furniture Fair or ICFF Editor Awards are one of the industry’s premier accolades. Each year leading editors walk the ICFF floor, hunting out the best of what’s on offer in 16 categories.
Best Booth – Tom Dixon.   The Tom Dixon booth greets guests with its designs and brightens the stage with a touch of his signature fluorescent orange. 

ICFF Editors Awards: Best Accessories. Norwegian company, Angell Wyller Aarseth’s Oyvind Wyller and his award winning cookware.

ICFF Editors Awards: Best Textiles.  Spanish textile company Teixidors currently uses traceable wool and since 2000 has practiced traditional, environmentally respectful techniques in the rearing and shearing of its purebred Merino sheep, and the preparation of raw materials.

ICFF Editors Awards: Best Craftsmanship. George Nakashima Woodworker, SA.  “To be intimate with nature in multifaceted moods is one of the greatest experiences of life.” George Nakashima.

ICFF Editors Awards: Best Multiple Production. Fermob, outdoor furniture is designed by Federic Sofia and inspired by the Jardin du Luxembourg in Paris.  The furniture comes in all the Fermob colors.

ICFF Editors Awards: Best Kitchen and Bath. AF New York’s designer Peter Streckfuss.

Peter Streckfuss’s Torsion faucets for AF New York.

ICFF Editors Awards: Best Seating. Wilkhahn’s Chassis Chair designed by Stefan Dietz.   The multipurpose chair Chaissis’s body uses state-of-the-art vehicle body manufacturing technology to make the frame. Considered a milestone in the design industry.

 Wilkhahn’s Chassis Chair designed by Stefan Dietz.

ICFF Editors Awards: Best Outdoor Furniture. Herman Miller Retail’s Eames Aluminum Group. 


ICFF Editors Awards: Best School.    Tools by The School at Columbia University with Aruliden and Bernhardt Design.  Forty-five eighth grade students from the School at Columbia University were asked to design a classroom for the future.  Merging math, science and art, they reimagined their everyday school objects.  Designed for kids by kids.

Details of the Tools project by The School at Columbia University with Aruliden and Bernhardt Design.

ICFF Editors Awards: Best Furniture.   Artek.  The bench and table, Pikka was designed in 1955 by Ilmari Tapionaavra.  The Tapiovaara Furniture Collection is now part of Artek portfolio.

ICFF Editors Awards: Best Body of Work.  Vitra is Vitra. Tip Top chair by Edward Barber and Jay Osgerby.

ICFF Editors Awards: Best Lighting. Wastberg.  The LED W101 light designed by Claesson Koivisto Rune for Wastberg.  It is built from sandwiched paper sheets of DuraPulp, a mix of paper pulp and starch polymer. The folded geometry of the lamp also makes for rigidity, and is not just for sculptural effect.

ICFF Editors Awards: Best Carpet and Flooring.  The Ltd. Edition Polypropylene carpet Patio is an indoor outdoor carpet. Developed in collaboration with Belgium-based luxury outdoor furniture manufacturer, Royal Botania, Patio is UV and weather resistant.

ICFF Editors Awards: Best New Designer.  Designer, Charles Brill of Rich Brilliant Willing. He is photographed next to the Delta lighting series inspired by propulsion systems and rooftop vents.

ICFF Editors Awards: Best Materials. Stone Source’s Mutina Collection ceramic tiles won the award for the company.

ICFF Editors Awards: Best wall Coverings.  The best wall coverings award went to Piet Hein Eek’s wallpaper for Scrapwood, which depicts a series of distressed wood floors.

Pin It